PROJECT STATEMENT 1

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

 

This piece was designed after the poem “First Fig” by Edna St. Vincent Millay.

First Fig

  by Edna St. Vincent Millay

My candle burns at both ends;
It will not last the night;
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends—
It gives a lovely light!

– See more at: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/20233#sthash.ztw6khIi.dpuf

For whatever reason the poem resonated with me and I wanted to create my project after the so called candle of life in the poem which burns from both ends.

When someone looks at this I want them to see movement in the flame from both ends. I want them to notice the imperfections and irregularity with the materials. I wanted the candle to symbolize life and I find life to be imperfect, rough, beautiful, and wild. To try to achieve this I used crumpled newspaper, brown and white tape, brown paper bags, wood, and wire. Like I said, I wanted my use of these materials be imperfect and not complete. I purposely crumpled the newspaper and left the tape showing to achieve this. I left the candle open so you can see the inside and the wire attaching the flames on both ends.

I learned about the cost of wire. I learned how to transform and alter wire better. I learned how much can be done with such simple objects like tape, wire, and newspaper. I also learned a new poem, which I quite like. 

If I made it again I would suspend it from the ceiling with a more clear material. I would have bought thinner wire rods to save a bit of money. I also think I would have done the flames a little differently. I still can’t decide if I should have made the flames “flame out” more or keep them slightly condensed so as to keep the attention within the piece. Oh and I would also buy more brown tape. Either way I did have fun with this one! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

